Life

Growing Up: Surviving the Challenges of Life

When I look at the sky, it never changes – I keep on asking myself; why do we need to grow if the sky that were looking above never change? I couldn’t understand that at first, but now, I know that it is really necessary to be an adult. In life, growing up is inevitable. You cannot stay like a little kid forever you  need to grow and explore the different challenges here on earth. 

Being a kid means a lot of fun and excitement. I could still clearly remember the things that I did when I was little. I don’t need a laptop, cellphone, or whatever – I only need the ground where I can run and jump with my playmates. I don’t even need Wi-Fi because I can use my voice to communicate with them.

When I was a kid, I only cry because I couldn’t get the toys that I want. But now, I’m crying because of failures, heartaches, and disappointments. I don’t even know what these are until I felt them. I thought I was good enough growing up; but facing the real world is never easy. When I was a kid, a lot of people liked me – or at least, that’s what I thought.

I will never be good enough for other people; I need to accept that fact. I need to let go of the things that I believed in when I was a kid. Some people are cruel – they will bring you down till you can’t fight anymore. If you let these people ruin every single bit of your being, you are proving them that you’re not really good enough. So whenever I’m down, I just keep on thinking the things that I really want when I was a kid:

I want to earn money and to be successful.

But how can I do that if I have doubts inside my heart? When I was a kid, my only doubt is to “never trust a stranger.” Now, I am even doubting myself – underestimating myself. I am so afraid to try for something new; I am so afraid to get out from my comfort zone.

Why? I am so afraid that I might fail everyone; including myself.

I must admit, failure made weak; although my perspective now has changed. For me, there is no such thing as failure; these are only challenges. Like some games that we used to play when we were still a kid. We need to try again – try again until you know the result; try again until we achieve the goal that we want.

Life is hard – no one told us that when we were young. One thing is sure though, you can choose what hardship you want to experience growing up. The only important thing is – never ever give up. If it’s meant for you, for sure, it is worth it until the end.

Leave a Reply

